Presenting the 2017 Madison Avenue Walk of Fame Winners!

You’re invited to AW2020, Advertising Week’s digital event, September 29-October 8 to help work through solutions to some of the advertising and marketing industry’s biggest problems. From climbing unemployment to racial inequality and an unclear future, now is the time, more than ever, to think and work together. Register to learn more.

Share this post

Drumroll, please! The votes are officially in — on Monday, September 25, 2017; brand mascots celebrated Advertising Week’s 14th Annual Madison Avenue Walk of Fame — the advertising industry’s version of the Hollywood Walk of Fame — by inducting the year’s most iconic mascots and slogans.

26 characters were nominated this year with many familiar and fresh faces added to the polls. Our winners were the Energizer Bunny and Carvel Ice Cream’s Fudgie the Whale. Both icons were ecstatic about their respective wins and even prepped their own acceptance speeches!

For Fudgie the Whale, who has been the face of Carvel since 1977 and turned 40 this year, the win was truly an unexpected delight. “What a nail biter! I’m so honored be inducted into Advertising Week’s Madison Avenue Walk of Fame alongside the Energizer Bunny. I would like to thank all my fans who voted for me and I hope we can celebrate soon!”

The pink Energizer Bunny accepted his award by bringing his signature cool to the stage with his flip flops, sunglasses, and carrying a drum that never stops beating. On his behalf, the Energizer team shared this statement. “Generations of consumers have grown up with the Energizer Bunny’s unstoppable power and his will to ‘Keep Going and Going.’ We’re thrilled that Advertising Week has named him as one of their icons of the year and know he’ll be a fan favorite for generations to come.”

In addition to the winning mascots, BMW’s “The Ultimate Driving Machine” and Frosted Flakes “They’re Gr-r-reat!” took home honors and were inducted as the year’s slogans out of a pool of 26 nominations.

Congratulations to this year’s winners — be sure to cheer on their wins via social media!

Share this post